No help, no hope from HAUP.

In my last post, I described how I was hanging on by a very thin, frayed thread to my excellent credit score and barely able to pay my mortgage during my period of un*employment (a term I coined to represent a combination of unemployment and underemployment). Since February 2010, I have been working to stay in my home. In the first attempt, I applied directly with my mortgage holder for a mortgage modification, which was denied for lack of stable income. Next, I moved on to working with government financial advisors and/or directly with my mortgage holder to apply for the Home Affordable Mortgage Program (HAMP) and the Home Affordable Unemployed Program (HAUP): I was denied four times for various reasons.

Pile of paper

HAUP gives hope to the mortgage company, but otherwise has wasted my time and a lot of paper.

I figure it’s my duty to other Americans in similar straits to relate how HAUP works. I couldn’t find much about it online except eligibility guidelines and how to apply. Here’s what you should know about how the program works — or doesn’t, in my case.

I started my fifth application process in July 2012. After supplying them with reams of paperwork proving my lack of income, dozens of calls back and forth, and dozens of form letters in response, I finally got the letter accepting my HAUP application in the mail today! The letter was from my mortgage servicer, Homeward Residential, previously American Home Mortgage–a simple name change facilitated the shedding of their bad image as a recipient of American tax dollars as bail-out money. The letter said Homeward approved a forbearance plan through HAUP. This means that they are willing to postpone or forbear from initiating any foreclosure proceedings for (in my case) six months (the minimum term is three months), and that my new monthly payments will be reduced to $5/mo for six months.

“YAY!” I said in my kitchen to myself. “FINALLY! YAY!”

But then I read the terms of the three-page letter. This is how HAUP works: Interest will continue to accrue during the forbearance period. I must continue to pay the taxes, which are in escrow with Homeward. Among the key provisions: the principal and interest that the bank suspends (in my case, for six months) will accrue as an unpaid balance of approximately $8440.77 — which will be due immediately upon the end of the forbearance period. In other words, in six months, I will be in default to the tune of $8440.77, which will be reported monthly as delinquent to any credit reporting agency. This would obviously shred my good credit.

At that time, until any “Default is fully cured and all amounts due and unpaid have been paid, the loan remains delinquent.” The mortgager “may continue to report the loan as delinquent” every month. So even if I pay that balance off eventually, say at the end of my loan term in another 20 years, I will have been “delinquent” for 20 years.

I called my “relationship manager” and she confirmed that not only will the bank call all my deferred payments due after the six-month period, that during that six months, the bank will be reporting me as delinquent, even if I make the $5/mo payment they’ve set up for me.

So, let’s say I get a lovely, high-paying salaried position (just go with me) at the end of the HAUP forbearance period. Anyone who has been un*employed even briefly knows it takes months, even years, to get back on your feet after you start working again. My first priority would be to get back to paying things on time. With any extra (extra?) income, I would need to pay down my home-equity line of credit and stop using my credit cards. I won’t suddenly have enough money to pay a delinquent $8440!

Furthermore, if I can’t pay that $8440 immediately when it’s due after the six-month forbearance period, the agreement says that they’ll be able to start foreclosure proceedings against me.

The letter says that after the forbearance period, the bank will consider me for a modification under HAMP. They do not guarantee that I would be eligible for a modification under HAMP or any other program. As a matter, of fact, we both know I won’t qualify for HAMP. I’ve been rejected four times because my freelance income is too unstable and irregular. HAMP has been a useless program (for me) because if I made enough money to qualify for a modification, I wouldn’t need the program– I’d already be making my mortgage payments on time. If I don’t make enough money, I won’t qualify for the program.

How does any of that make sense? Who does HAUP help? The only person that would be helped is someone who is already in foreclosure; and all it does is buy them six months before they’re in foreclosure again. Thanks but no thanks!

This HAUP program was set up to help unemployed people, but it is clear that HAUP is no help, and doesn’t give homeowners any hope.

It’s hard to say much, if anything, good about HAUP, except to say that for a few people, it may buy them some time while destroying their credit. Perhaps, if they already have terrible credit, HAUP is just the thing. The letter from Homeward does specify one way to skate on the loan, the forbearance plan, and your home–that is, if you can’t make the payments in the forbearance plan, you are off the hook if you obtain a Chapter 7 bankruptcy. Either way, forbearance via HAUP gives you no hope to save your credit score. And it only delays an inevitable foreclosure.

A couple of friends (who have stable jobs) have told me they’ve had success with modification after trying and trying, and not to give up hope. Knowing a couple of people whose persistence paid off has motivated me to apply for modification five times so far. Although I don’t have a steady income that qualifies me for a more useful type of modification, the minute I obtain steady income, I’ll be reapplying for a much more helpful modification plan!

The good news for me is only that Homeward promises not to start foreclosure proceedings on me for six months, as long as I make that $5/mo payment. I’m planning to continue to pay my mortgage in its entirety over the next six months–somehow. But if I can’t make my payments, I’ll pay what I can above the $5, and hopefully get back on track with owing a much smaller amount when the forbearance period ends. Either way, I dread what that will do to my heretofore stellar credit, which I will need if I have to rent an apartment after losing my condo. What a pain!

The other good news is that my son has now begun his junior year in high school. In another two years, I expect he’ll be in college (with help, I hope, from scholarships, grants, and student loans), and I’ll be moving someplace–preferably warmer–where the terrible schools don’t matter.

Wish me luck!

One thought on “No help, no hope from HAUP.

  1. You’re absolutely right, HAUP doesn’t do much except delay the inevitable for many people. Usually that means foreclosure and a ruined credit. If I were in your situation, I would try looking at moving into an apartment before my credit can be damaged. Also, there is family to think of in times of emergency like this. My wife and I have recently had to retreat to my mother’s house. Thankfully my family is very supportive of us and get along great with my wife. Any port in a storm…

Leave a Reply

